True Knit

Knitting, Sewing, Crocheting. Mostly.

Gorgeous Saturday May 15, 2010

Filed under: Baby,Nature Overwhelms Me,Sewing — lalunaunita @ 4:35 pm

First of all, it’s a beautiful day here in Austin.  It rained all yesterday and last night, but today is clear and sunny.  The flowers in my front yard are blooming:

 

The calla lilies were a Mother’s Day gift and thank goodness I managed to get them in the ground before they wilted and died.  I want a garden, but don’t have much of a green thumb so far.  I also potted the moss rose just a few weeks ago and have so far managed to keep it alive. 

 

The lilies were put in by the previous owners and I don’t know that we would have really seen them for what they are except that we’ve had so much rain this year.  They have been amazing!

I got the chance to make new friends and purchase a ton of fabric for next to nothing today… I’m not sure what projects I’ll use everything for, but it’s all so useful!  Some gentlemen in town posted the fabric sale on craigslist, so my friend Mel and I went over (with Olivia and Ashton, our daughters, of course) and ransacked the fabric stock.  I ended up with some great patterns, buttons, and ribbon as well.  Benson, who was selling the fabric, even gave some of the buttons to me, since they were for Oli!  I’m determined to make a few things for her this summer, so now I’m feeling much more equipped.  I just need a couple of nice patterns to round everything out, and once my sewing machine is back from repairs, I’ll be able to get started.

I also received free fabric from Mel last night.  She brought it over for our first stitch n’ bitch, which went so well that we’re going to make it a weekly gig.  My sister in law Marcia joined us too.  She’s been working on an order of dream catchers for a lady she met at a craft fair.

       

Biscuit likes Mel’s taste in fabrics…

I’m feeling like the patterns have come back around again… I especially like the halter top in the first and the short dresses in the second.

And now to end this post … gratuitous naked baby!

 

Leave a Reply

